European Computer Driving Licence ECDL

Erasmus+ Courses – KA1 Learning Mobility 


ECDL – European Computer Driving Licence 

The ECDL is the internationally-recognized standard of competence, a widely acceptable certificate that asserts that the holder has the knowledge and skills needed to use the most common computer applications efficiently and productively in the workplace and at home. It aims to eliminate the digital gap by setting up a bench-mark for the level of skills of employees and students are required to have in order to perform efficiently in the Information Society.

The ECDL is owned and managed by the ECDL Foundation (NGO) which was established by the Council of Europe Information Scientists (CEPIS). Its headquarters are in Ireland.

Reasons for obtaining the ECDL 

Benefits for the individuals!Benefits for the organizations!

obullet The ECDL confirms to potential  or current employers that the person has a professionally recognized, relevant and up-to-date qualification that will assist in raising productivity and familiarity with the technology and its uses.

obullet The ECDL holder has the sound and recognized proof that he/she has the level of competencies and skills required; thus increasing and enhancing the possibilities of employment.

obullet As the only paneuropean certificate, the ECDL operates and is recognized in all countries of the European Union (and in many other countries)

obullet The ECDL Diploma is the only IT Skills Certification Programme which has been established and developed by the Council of European Professional Informatics Scientists – CEPIS) and is supported by 45 International Associations of Computing and 400.000 Information Technology professionals.

Useful Information

Target Group:

Students,Young people, Youth, Teachers, Trainers.  


English, Greek.



Course Fee:

€490 (7 Working Days Courses for Each Module – Fully Funded by the Erasmus+ Programme).

Exams Cost for Each ECDL Module: 

€50 (Fully Funded by the Erasmus+ Programme).

Click Here for Funding

Click Here to Reserve Your Place

Click Here for ECDL Course Brochure


Acquiring the ECDL Standard

In order to obtain the ECDL STANDARD Diploma you have to successfully pass the 4 ECDL Base Modules and 3 ECDL Standard Modules. The ECDL exams are external and they can only be taken in ECDL approved examination centres in Europe.

ECDL Mandatory Base Modules 

Computer Essentials:

Gain skills and understanding of concepts relating to the use of devices, file creation and management, networks and data security.

Online Essentials:

Gain skills and understanding of concepts relating to web browsing, effective information search, online communication and e-mail.

Word Processing:

Gain skills to accomplish everyday tasks associated with creating, formatting and finishing word processing documents, such as letters, CVs, and other documents.


Gain skills to perform tasks associated with developing, formatting, modifying and using a spreadsheet, to use standard formulas and functions, and to competently create and format graphs or charts.

ECDL Elective Modules (To Select 4)


Learn how to create professional standard presentations. Perform tasks such as creating, formatting, modifying and preparing presentations using different slide layouts for display and printed distribution.

Using Databases:

Learn how to use a desktop database effectively.Understand the main concepts of databases and demonstrate the ability to use a database application: creating and modifying tables, queries, forms and reports, and preparing outputs ready for distribution.

Web Editing:

Gain skills which enable you to understand the key web editing and publishing concepts, and to design, create, upload, and maintain a static website.

Project Planning:

Learn to use project management software to prepare project plans and monitor projects including planning and managing time, costs, tasks, and resources.

Important Things to Know for ECDL


The ECDL exam modules can be taken individually at any EU country.


The ECDL Log Book is transferable so that any ECDL exam centre can certify that the specific module has been passed.


The ECDL courses and exams can be taken in English or Greek.


The ECDL is recognized, validated and certified as a professional qualification in Cyprus and in other EU countries.


A Europass Mobility Certificate is issued for each Module or for the ECDL Core Diploma.


Upon completion of the ECDL Core Diploma (7 Modules) exception credits according to the ECTS regulations is possible to be obtained.